Awards and Recognitions Presented by NCS4

National Sport Safety and Security Professional of the Year Award
This award recognizes a member of management in the field that has, over the past year, demonstrated outstanding leadership in addressing safety/security issues. In addition to the enhanced safety and security of their venue, the recipient’s contributions have set an example for others to follow. The award is selected by each professional league, NCAA and NFHS presented annually by a league official at the National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition.

Previous Award Recipients:

National Football League

Matthew Bettenhausen - AEG World Wide, 2013
Danny DeLorenzi - MetLife Stadium, 2012

National Basketball Association

Robert “Bob” Hundevadt - AmericanAirlines Arena, 2013
Rosie Grace - Amway Center, 2012
Edward Boyens- Amway Center, 2012

Major League Baseball

Richard Fenton - Ilitch Holdings, 2013
Rob Matwick - Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, 2012

National Hockey League

Johnny Jackson - Joe Louis Arena, 2013
Clinton Peterson - PNC Arena, 2012


Larry Naifeh - University of Oklahoma, 2013
Paul Denton - The Ohio State University, 2012

Major League Soccer

Gina McFarlin - FC Dallas Stadium, 2013
David Dollase - Livestrong Sporting, 2012


Matt Brannock - Martinsville Speedway, 2013
Jim Hobbs - Michigan International Speedway, 2012

United States Tennis Association

Dick Clark - Lindner Family Tennis Center, 2012 

National Federation of High School Associations

Thomas J. Gunnell - Katy Independent School District, 2013


Executive Event Services - Yorba Linda, California, 2013


Distinguished Leadership Award - This award recognizes a professional in the field who over the course of their career has constantly contributed to sport safety and security. To warrant this highest honor, the recipient’s service, commitment, ingenuity and integrity have elevated the profession to new levels.  The award recipient is selected by a panel of subject matter experts on behalf of the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS4) at the University of Southern Mississippi and given annually at the National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition.

2013 Recipient

- Dennis Cunningham, Executive Vice President, Security; National Hockey League (NHL)

2012 Recipient (Presented by eVerifile)

- Dan Mullin, Senior VP, Department of Investigations - Major League Baseball (MLB)

2011 Recipient

- Mike Rodriguez, Director of Security - United States Tennis Association (USTA)

2010 Recipients:

- Milt Ahlerich, Vice President for Security - National Football League
- Thad Cochran, United States Senator for Mississippi
- Bennie Thompson, Congressman Representing the 2nd District of Mississippi
   Ranking Democrat, Committee of Homeland Security


Facility Achievement Awards - This award recognizes a facility that has performed above and beyond normal operations to demonstrate an innovative approach to enhancing safety and security. The chosen facility may also have resolved a significant safety/security issue or incident. The award is selected by each professional league and the NCAA and presented annually by a league official at the National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition.

Previous Award Recipients:

NCAA Institutions

Tiger Stadium - Louisiana State University, 2013
Neyland Stadium- University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2013
Spartan Stadium - Michigan State University, 2013
Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium - University of Oklahoma, 2012
Ben Hill Griffin Stadium - University of Florida, 2012
Highpoint Solutions Stadium - Rutgers University, 2012
Ohio Stadium - The Ohio State University, 2011
Beaver Stadium - Penn State University, 2011
Kyle Field - Texas A&M University, 2011

Major League Soccer

StubHub Center - Los Angeles, California, 2013
Livestrong Sporting Park - Kansas City, Missouri, 2012
PPL Park - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 2011

National Basketball Association

American Airlines Arena - Miami, Florida, 2013
Amway Center - Orlando, Florida, 2012
Staples Center - Los Angles, California, 2011

National Football League

University of Phoenix - Glendale, Arizona, 2013
EverBank Field - Jacksonville, Florida, 2012
Gillette Stadium - Boston, Massachusetts, 2011
MetLife Stadium - East Rutherford, New Jersey, 2011

National Hockey League

United Center - Chicago, Illinois, 2013
Staples Center - Los Angeles, California, 2012
Joe Louis Arena - Detroit, Michigan, 2011

Major League Baseball

Kauffman Stadium - Kansas City, Missouri, 2013
Rangers Ballpark in Arlington - Arlington, Texas, 2012
Safeco Field - Seattle, Washington, 2011


Martinsville Speedway - Ridgeway, Virginia, 2013
Michigan International Speedway - Brooklyn, Michigan, 2012
Daytona International Speedway - Daytona, Florida, 2011


Texas Motor Speedway - Fort Worth, Texas, 2013


Bruno Event Team - Birmingham, Alabama, 2012
Wegmans Championship - Rochester, New York, 2011
Kraft Nabisco Championship - Rancho Mirage, California, 2011

National Federation High School Associations

Racine Unified School District - Racine, Wisconsin, 2013

Little League Baseball

World Series - Williamsport, Pennsylvania, 2011

United States Tennis Association

Lindner Family Tennis Center - Mason, Ohio, 2012


Eagle Awards (NEW) - This award recognizes excellence in architecture, engineering and construction (A/E/C) specially related to the safety and security of spectators, property and infrastructure of spectator event facilities.  The award will consider the critical design and functionality elements that enable and promote the safety and security of all stakeholders in an efficient and effective manner.

2013 Recipients

- ISS 24/7